Fall Semester 2019

Monday, March 25 Registration for Fall Semester 2019 begins (use Cardinal Students)
Thursday, August 22 New student orientation begins
Monday, August 26 Opening of classes
Thursday, August 29 Mass of the Holy Spirit - University Mass, 12:10 p.m.; No classes held between 11:50 a.m. and 2:10 p.m.
Monday, September 2

Labor Day (Holiday: No classes)

Friday, September 6 Last day to register or add regular session courses for credit, including comprehensive exams and internships (use Cardinal Students)* Last day to drop regular session courses without record (use Cardinal Students)*
Wednesday, September 11 Class of 2023 Convocation, 9:00 a.m.
Friday, September 27 Final date to deposit theses and dissertations for Summer 2019 graduation
Tuesday, October 1 Last day for Summer 2019 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Students)
Monday, October 7 –
Friday, October 11
Faculty submit interim grades for freshmen
Friday, October 11 Midterm
Last day to resolve grades of Incomplete from the previous semester
Last day to change to audit (must have dean's permission)
Monday, October 14 Columbus Day (Holiday: No classes)
Tuesday, October 15 Administrative Monday: Classes follow a Monday schedule this day; Tuesday classes do not meet
Monday, October 28 Pre-registration advising begins
Friday, November 1 All Saints Day
Saturday, November 2 All Souls Liturgy - Memorial Mass for deceased of the university community
Tuesday, November 5 Registration for Spring (Second) Semester 2020 begins (use Cardinal Students).
Friday, November 8 Last day to withdraw from regular session classes with a "W" grade (use Cardinal Students)*
Friday, November 15 Last day to request pass/fail option (undergraduates only; must have dean's permission)
Wednesday, November 27 Thanksgiving recess begins
Monday, December 2 Classes resume
Saturday, December 7

Last day of classes

Sunday, December 8 – Monday, December 9 Reading Period
Monday, December 9 Patronal Feast of the Immaculate Conception (Reading Day: No classes)
Tuesday, December 10 - Saturday, December 14 Final Examination Period
Tuesday, December 17 All final grades due by 3:00 p.m.
Thursday, January 2, 2020 Last day for Fall 2019 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Students)
Friday, January 10, 2020 Final date to deposit theses and dissertations for Fall 2019 graduation

Spring Semester 2020

Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Registration for Spring Semester 2020 begins (use Cardinal Students)
Thursday, January 2 Last day for Fall 2019 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Students)
Monday, January 13 Opening of classes
Monday, January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day (Holiday: No Classes)
Friday, January 24 March for Life - No classes between 11:00 am and 3:10 pm
Friday, January 24 Last day to register or add regular session courses for credit, including comprehensive exams and internships (use Cardinal Students)* Last day to drop regular session courses without record (use Cardinal Students)*
Tuesday, January 28 Patronal Feast of St. Thomas Aquinas University Mass, 12:10 p.m.; No classes held between 11:50 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.
Monday, February 24 –
Friday, February 28
Faculty submit interim grades for freshmen
Tuesday, February 25 Administrative Monday: Classes follow a Monday schedule this day; Tuesday classes do not meet
Monday, February 25 -
Friday, March 1
Faculty submit interim grades for freshmen
Wednesday, February 26 Ash Wednesday
Friday, February 28 Midterm
Last day to resolve grades of Incomplete from the previous semester
Last day to change to audit (must have dean's permission)
Friday, March 6 Last day for Spring 2020 degree candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Students)
Monday, March 9 Spring recess begins
Monday, March 16

Classes resume
Registration for Summer 2020 begins (use Cardinal Students)
Pre-registration advising for Fall 2020 begins

Tuesday, March 24

Registration for Fall (First) Semester 2020 begins (use Cardinal Students)

Wednesday, April 1 Last day to withdraw from regular session courses with a "W" grade (use Cardinal Students)*
Wednesday, April 8

Last day to request pass/fail option (undergraduates only; must have dean's permission)

Thursday, April 9 Holy Thursday. No Classes; Easter recess begins
Friday, April 10 Good Friday
Founders Day
Sunday, April 12 Easter Sunday
Monday, April 13 Easter Monday
Tuesday, April 14 Classes resume
Tuesday, April 21 University Research Day; Non-Law classes cancelled through 5:00 p.m., Law classes cancelled through 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 29 Reading Day (No Classes)
Friday, May 1 Final date to deposit theses and dissertations for May 2020 graduation
Saturday, May 2 Last day of classes
Sunday, May 3 - Monday, May 4 Reading Period
Tuesday, May 5 -
Saturday, May 9
Final examination period
Monday, May 11 Grades for graduating students due by noon
Tuesday, May 12 All other grades due by 3:00 p.m.
Friday, May 15 Baccalaureate Mass
Saturday, May 16 Commencement exercises
Friday, May 22 Law School Commencement
Monday, May 11 -
Saturday, August 15
Summer Session

*Courses offered in dynamically dated sessions (those which do not extend the full length of the semester) may have earlier or later deadlines. These deadlines may be viewed in Cardinal Students.